Wednesday, June 27, 2012

IITs agree to follow New Format from 2013

The Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) have agreed to follow the new format starting next year for the entrance for undergraduate courses after several weeks of tussle with the HRD minister Kapil Sibal. 

The 15 IITs including New Delhi, Kanpur, Mumbai, Kharagpur, Chennai, Roorkee, Guwahati, Rajasthan, Gandhi Nagar, Patna, Hyderabad, Ropar, Mandi, Bhubaneshwar and Indore, agreed to implement the new admission format from 2013 at a meeting of IIT council in New Delhi on Wednesday. 

As per the new format, the students, who will score in the top 20% of their board exams (state, CBSE or ICSE), will become eligible to take the advance test that will be controlled by the IITs. The marks obtained by the aspirants in the advanced exam will be considered for the IIT merit list.

Kanpur IIT, which had opposed to the proposal by the central government, gave full support to the new admission format. "There is no compromise. It is just a single proposal with all steps clearly spelt out. All doubts have been sorted," said IIT-Kanpur Council member G Anandkrishnan. 

Sibal, who is also the IIT Council Chairperson, skipped the meeting as he wanted the IITs to sort out the issue among them.

No comments:

Post a Comment